top of page
Enid Blyton  Island  of Adventure

The Island of Adventure Enid Blyton


The Island of Adventure by Enid Blyton


About the Book: 

“An old half-ruined house on a cliff, a strange island called Gloom, a path that goes right under the sea bed, and men who are up to secret tings on the island… As Jack, Lucy-Ann, Philip and Dinah, try to solve these mysteries, they come in for all sorts of thrills, excitement and perilous adventure…”

Genre:  Children’s Classic fiction

Book Type:

Piccolo Collectable 1970s Paperback

A Piccolo book – Pan Books in association with Macmillan London. Appealing to collect all eight of the 1970s Piccolo book series.

Edition:  Piccolo first edition 1975

Size: 18cm x 11cm

Number of pages:  206 + 2 Pages of books advertisements

Illustrations: Cover illustration by Juliet Stanwell-Smith.

16 black and white illustrations throughout the book.  Text illustrations as the original books by Stuart Tesilian his professional name (Cecil Stuart Hazell Tesilian 1891 -1974). As well as the Adventure series for Enid Blyton, Stuart Tesilian also illustrated Rudyard Kipling’s Animals Stories & All the Mowgli Stories. He was a Second Lieutenant with the Fifth London Regiment and was captured in 1918 and held at Rastatt, Baden Württemberg, Germany on the upper Rhine Plain. He was able to draw during this time and these precious works are held at the Imperial War Museum.

Table of contents. 

29 chapters

  • The beginning of things
  • Making friends
  • Two letters – and a plan
  • Craggy Tops
  • Settling in a Craggy Tops
  • The days go by
  • A queer discovery
  • In the cellars
  • A strange boat
  • Night adventure
  • Bill Smugs
  • A treat -  and a surprise for Jo-Jo
  • Jo-Jo is tricked
  • A glimpse of the Isle of Gloom
  • A queer happening -  and a fine trip
  • Strange discoveries
  • Jo-Jo is angry
  • Off to the island again
  • Down in the copper-mines
  • Prisoners underground
  • Escape – but what about Jack?
  • A talk with Bill -  and a shock
  • Another secret passage
  • A journey under the sea
  • An extraordinary find
  • A bad time -  and a surprising meeting
  • A lot of things are made clear
  • Trapper
  • All’s well that ends well


Biography of Author:

Enid Blyton prolific children’s author. She originally wrote ‘Adventure’ series of eight books during the final years of the second world war, the first one The Island of Adventure being published in 1944 through to 1955 when the final book, The River of Adventure was produced. The series was reproduced by Piccolo in 1970s with a new interpretation for the cover design and using the original text illustrations by Stuart Tesilian.

More information about the Adventure series at


Covers:  Card covers are good, clean with excellent colouring. Slight rubbing and age-related wear. Creasing to spine along front cover gutter and creasing at bottom corner front cover and top right front cover Slight rubbing to most edges and corners.

Binding: Tight

Spine: Slight scuffing along bottom edge and top edges of spine

Pages.  All pages complete and are age toned, yellowing with no tears or creasing. Owners inscription on the front free end page as per image. Author list has two  ink ticks.

A very good copy of a vintage 46-year-old well-loved paperback.


Books, pamphlets and magazines are pre-owned and pre-loved showing some signs of use. . Photos are included to help you judge the condition.

    bottom of page