top of page
Enid Blyton Mountain  of Adventure

The Mountain of Adventure Enid Blyton


The Mountain of Adventure by Enid Blyton


About the Book: 

“When Philip, Jack, Dinah, Lucy-Ann and Kiki the parrot go on their summer holiday in Wales, they fall-as usual- headlong into the most extraordinary adventure…What is the strange mountain? What causes the crimson clouds and rumbling inside? And what exactly is inside? The children are determined to find out…”

Genre:  Children’s Classic fiction

Book Type:

Piccolo Collectable 1970s Paperback

A Piccolo book – Pan Books in association with Macmillan London. Appealing to collect all eight of the 1970s Piccolo book series.

Edition:  Piccolo first edition 1976, 2nd Printing   

Size: 18cm x 11cm

Number of pages:  192

Illustrations: Cover illustration by Juliet Stanwell-Smith.

11 black and white illustrations throughout the book.  Text illustrations as the original books by Stuart Tesilian his professional name (Cecil Stuart Hazell Tesilian 1891 -1974). As well as the Adventure series for Enid Blyton, Stuart Tesilian also illustrated Rudyard Kipling’s Animals Stories & All the Mowgli Stories. He was a Second Lieutenant with the Fifth London Regiment and was captured in 1918 and held at Rastatt, Baden Württemberg, Germany on the upper Rhine Plain. He was able to draw during this time and these precious works are held at the Imperial War Museum.

Table of contents. 

30 chapters

  • All set for a Summer Holiday
  • At the Farm-house
  • The First Morning
  • Up on the Mountain-Side
  • Arrival of the Donkeys
  • Off to the Vale of the Butterflies
  • On the Way
  • First Night in Camp
  • A Different World
  • A Disturbing Night
  • A Strange Happening
  • Wolves in the Night!
  • The Faces in the Tree
  • Plenty of Things Happen
  • Behind the Green Curtain
  • Inside the Mountain
  • Philip Again
  • A Little Exploring
  • The King of the Mountain
  • An amazing Secret
  • On the Mountain-top
  • The Helicopter
  • The Wonderful Wings
  • The Helicopter Comes Again
  • A Thrilling Night
  • Flight Through the Mountain
  • Escape at last
  • Trailed by the Dogs
  • The Tables are Turned!
  • The End of It All!


Biography of Author:

Enid Blyton one of the most prolific children’s authors of 20th century. She originally wrote ‘Adventure’ series of eight books during the final years of the second world war, the first one The Island of Adventure being published in 1944 through to 1955 when the final book, The River of Adventure was produced. The series was reproduced by Piccolo in 1970s with a new interpretation for the cover design and using the original text illustrations by Stuart Tesilian.

More information about the Adventure series at


Covers:  Card covers are very good, clean with excellent colouring. Some slight rubbing and age-related wear. Creasing to spine along front cover gutter Slight rubbing or slight tearing to most edges and corners.

Owners inscription on the front free end paper as per image.

Binding: Tight

Spine: Creasing to spine along front cover gutter and slight bumping along bottom and op edges.

Pages.  All pages complete and are age toned, yellowing with no tears or creasing. A very good copy of a vintage 46-year-old well-loved paperback.

Books, pamphlets and magazines are pre-owned and pre-loved showing some signs of use. Photos are included to help you judge the condition.

    bottom of page