top of page
Enid Blyton  Sea of Adventure

The Sea of Adventure Enid Blyton



The Sea of Adventure by Enid Blyton


About the Book: 

“Bill Smugs has to ‘disappear’ from his enemies, so he takes is for young friends, Dinah, Jack, Philip and Lucy-Ann, to the remote bird islands in the northern sea. And, as always with these four, adventure follows fast with thrills, shocks, excitements and alarms, that will make your heart beat almost as fast as Lucy-Ann’s!

Genre:  Children’s Classic fiction

Book Type:

Piccolo Collectable 1970s Paperback

A Piccolo book – Pan Books in association with Macmillan London. Appealing to collect all eight of the 1970s Piccolo book series.

Edition:  Piccolo edition First Edition 1975

Size: 18cm x 11cm

Number of pages:  192 Pages

Illustrations: Cover illustration by Juliet Stanwell-Smith.

10 black and white illustrations throughout the book.  Text illustrations as the original books by Stuart Tesilian his professional name (Cecil Stuart Hazell Tesilian 1891 -1974). As well as the Adventure series for Enid Blyton, Stuart Tesilian also illustrated Rudyard Kipling’s Animals Stories & All the Mowgli Stories. He was a Second Lieutenant with the Fifth London Regiment and was captured in 1918 and held at Rastatt, Baden Württemberg, Germany on the upper Rhine Plain. He was able to draw during this time and these precious works are held at the Imperial War Museum.

Table of contents. 

31 chapters

  • No governess, thank you!
  • A glorious idea
  • Very mysterious
  • A visit from Bill -  and a great idea
  • Exciting plans
  • Travelling far
  • On the sea at last
  • The islands of birds
  • Huffin and Puffin Island
  • A little exploring
  • Huffin and Puffin
  • Bill goes off on his own
  • What happened in the night?
  • A few plans
  • A really terrible storm
  • Next day
  • A boat, A boat!
  • The enemy -  and Kiki!
  • Someone else come to the island
  • Mr Horace Tipperlong gets a shock
  • Horace does not like Puffin Island
  • The enemy
  • The secret lagoon
  • An amazing discovery
  • Another surprise
  • Off to the enemy’s island
  • Escape
  • A night of talking
  • Bill makes a grand find
  • Ahoy there! Show yourselves!
  • Over the sea of adventure


Biography of Author:

Enid Blyton prolific children’s author. She originally wrote ‘Adventure’ series of eight books during the final years of the second world war, the first one The Island of Adventure being published in 1944 through to 1955 when the final book, The River of Adventure was produced. The series was reproduced by Piccolo in 1970s with a new interpretation for the cover design and using the original text illustrations by Stuart Tesilian.

More information about the Adventure series at


Covers:  Card covers are good, clean with excellent colouring. Slight rubbing and age-related wear to the outer edges. Faint scuffing on bottom front image.

Binding: Tight

Spine: Very slight scuffing along bottom and top edges of spine

Pages.  All pages complete and are age toned, yellowing with no tears or creasing. Author inscription on front title page. Has two ink ticks beside book list as per image.

A very good copy of a vintage 46-year-old well-loved paperback. Books, pamphlets and magazines are pre-owned and pre-loved showing some signs of use. Photos are included to help you judge the condition.

    bottom of page