top of page
Enid Blyton  Valley  of Adventure

The Valley of Adventure Enid Blyton



The Valley of Adventure by Enid Blyton


About the Book

“Philip, Dinah, Lucy-Ann and Jack expect some excitement when the set off for a night flight in Bill Smug’s plane. But they get more than even they bargained or when they literally drop into another adventure, with a lonely valley, caves, secret tunnels, hidden treasure – and danger…”

Genre:  Children’s Classic fiction

Book Type:

Piccolo Collectable 1970s Paperback

A Piccolo book – Pan Books in association with Macmillan London. Appealing to collect all eight of the 1970s Piccolo book series.

Edition:  Piccolo edition 1976

Size: 18cm x 11cm

Number of pages:  203 + 2 Pages of books advertisements

Illustrations: Cover illustration by Juliet Stanwell-Smith.

16 black and white illustrations throughout the book.  Text illustrations as the original books by Stuart Tesilian his professional name (Cecil Stuart Hazell Tesilian 1891 -1974). As well as the Adventure series for Enid Blyton, Stuart Tesilian also illustrated Rudyard Kipling’s Animals Stories & All the Mowgli Stories. He was a Second Lieutenant with the Fifth London Regiment and was captured in 1918 and held at Rastatt, Baden Württemberg, Germany on the upper Rhine Plain. He was able to draw during this time and these precious works are held at the Imperial War Museum.

Table of contents. 

31 chapters

  • Up in Bill’s aeroplane
  • Bill gets his way
  • A grave mistake
  • Wherever can we be?
  • A little exploring
  • What are the two men up to?
  • A wonderful find
  • Kiki talks too much
  • New plans
  • A fine hiding place
  • The cave of echoes
  • Behind the waterfall
  • Safe in the cave
  • The poor prisoner
  • A disappointment for the men
  • Rescue of the prisoner
  • A reassure map
  • Now for Windy Pass!
  • A great disappointment – and a plan
  • Signposts to the treasure
  • The strange caves
  • The treasure at last!
  • The guardians of the treasures
  • Juan finds the caves
  • Philip’s astonishing plan
  • The getaway
  • A discovery -  and a fine idea
  • The day after the storm
  • A very strange journey
  • Bill gets busy
  • An exciting finish


Biography of Author:

Enid Blyton prolific children’s author. She originally wrote ‘Adventure’ series of eight books during the final years of the second world war, the first one The Island of Adventure being published in 1944 through to 1955 when the final book, The River of Adventure was produced. The series was reproduced by Piccolo in 1970s with a new interpretation for the cover design and using the original text illustrations by Stuart Tesilian.

More information about the Adventure series at


Covers:  Card covers are good, clean with excellent colouring. Slight rubbing and age-related wear to the outer edges. Faint scuffing on bottom front image.

Binding: Tight

Spine: Slight scuffing along bottom and top edges of spine

Pages.  All pages complete and are age toned, yellowing with no tears or creasing. Author list has ink ticks and an ink outline around the adventure series.

A very good copy of a vintage 45-year-old well-loved paperback.

Books, pamphlets and magazines are pre-owned and pre-loved showing some signs of use.  Photos are included to help you judge the condition.

    bottom of page